Can I build my website without other people seeing it?

If you don't want your website accessible to visitors while you're still building, you can keep your site in ‘under construction’ mode. This means when people visit your website they will only see a page with a message of your choice displayed on it (e.g. ‘Page under construction – please visit again soon’).